HOW I BECAME SEMI-POPULAR

Hi everyone!!

Yes, today I’m writing about a frequently asked question:

HOW DID I GET SO MANY READS/FOLLOWERS??


 

Alrighty. This isn’t really a step-by-step guide on how to do this. This is what I did to get so many readers, and it worked for me. Also, this is somewhat-kinda my story. story-time bitches

So. Let’s bring it WAYYYYYYYY back. I joined Wattpad in 2013, and I was a pretty experienced writer. In 2013, I was (about) 17 years old, and had been writing since I was a little kid. And I mean, I was a writer as soon as I could read.

When I first joined, it was to read stories. I’d heard about Wattpad from someone, and I wanted to see what the fuss was about, and since I loved reading, I gave it a try. At first, I was underwhelmed; the stories were okay. But, I started finding better stories, and saw the support, and immediately wanted to put my own work on there.

My first ever story on Wattpad some of you may remember it was not very good. I had no views, no followers, and no one EVER commented on any chapters. I posted for myself more than anyone else, just so I could have a place to put my work. When I finished Frostbitten Past my first ever book on wattpad I immediately followed with a sequel that never saw completion because of the lack of views.

But moving on to what’s MOST important, The Skeleton Boy.

I posted TSB in 2014, and I wasn’t expecting anything. Literally had like, five followers, and no one read my stuff. Again, I was writing for myself and not for anyone else. But, around 10 chapters, I began to feel like nothing was worth it anymore.

THIS IS IMPORTANT: I almost quit Wattpad in 2014.

TSB had ten chapters, but only 50 views overall. It had NO votes. It had NO comments. It had 5 views per chapter. And I imagined that there was something wrong with me, with my writing, or with the topic I chose. I was reading story after story on Wattpad, and those stories had millions of views, but the writing was HORRIBLE.

I thought that I was pretty good at writing, but just couldn’t understand why every single story about a good girl/bad boy had like, the most views, and the writing was subpar. The plot was the same in every book.

I literally felt like I wanted to stop writing all together. I thought, if no one online liked my stuff, then I clearly wasn’t meant to write at all.

But, here we are, in 2017, and The Skeleton Boy has almost 1 million views. And everyone always asks me: HOW DID YOU GET THERE?

Unfortunately, there isn’t any good answer for this question. Everyone on Wattpad wants to be popular, and to have their books get views. Everyone on Wattpad wants readers and fans and to have a great time with their writing, but that just doesn’t happen.

After The Skeleton Boy hit 10 chapters, I knew things needed to change. I was feeling sad, down in the dumps, and I knew this was the turning point of my writing. Either I put everything into it, or I gave up. And honestly? I’m not one to give up.

So, I got involved in Wattpad. I went into the community, went onto the forums, and tried to make some friends. I went into horror-related forums and talked to others writing about similar topics. I talked to some wattpaders on Skype, and my reads spiked.

The more active you are in the community, the more reads you’ll get. And I don’t mean posting everywhere about your story, or asking people to read. I’m talking about making friends and talking to them enough to generate their interest.

Around this time, Wattpad was changing their format (for the better) and dedications became a thing. When I first joined wattpad, there were no dedications, that I could find, and I never really thought about dedicating a chapter to anyone. But, I’d read a story that I enjoyed, and I dedicated a chapter to them. Suddenly, they voted on the chapter, and some of their readers jumped onto my story to see what was up.

And, literally from there, things TOOK OFF faster than I could ever imagine.

I went from having 50 views to suddenly having 1,000 views in less than a month, and it didn’t stop there. People kept coming, and coming, and coming. People were recommending my story to their friends, and people were TALKING ABOUT ME AND MY STORY.

THAT’S RIGHT. LITTLE MISS NOBODY HAD FANS. I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE IT.

And I was SO overwhelmed that people were voting and commenting that I literally messaged EVERY SINGLE PERSON who voted to thank them. How extra is that? But seriously, I try my best to treat my readers with respect and the love they deserve. I reply to as many comments as I can, and I ALWAYS respond to private messages. If someone posts on my page wall (what is that called lmao) I respond. If people dedicate chapters to me, I try my best to read their story and vote and say thank you. Sometimes I miss the notification, though. Whoops.

When my readers need help, I try and help. if they need motivation, I try to give it. One of the most important things to me since the beginning was to treat my readers like they’re the most important part of Wattpad, because they are. You are. I used to comment on stories all the time, but never got a response from the author. I used to message them to tell them how they inspired me, and I NEVER got a response. After a while, I began to stop commenting all together. Why did it matter, if the author never read them?

So, when I got big, I vowed to myself that I’d be different: I’d comment back to my readers, and I would message them back, and I would try my best to give them advice when they asked.

So, here’s my advice to you: Make friends, treat your readers right, and NEVER give up. Because if I gave up in 2014, I would not be where I am today. TSB would have never been finished. TSG and TDC would have never been born. The support and motivation I give my readers would have never happened.

Believe in yourself and great things will happen. Keep trying, keep writing, and keep posting. It may seem like no one cares about what you write, but somewhere out there, someone cares.

Every time someone tells me that I’m their favorite author, or that they love my stories, or that what I write is inspiring to them, I remember when I had 50 views and I’m FLOORED with the support from my readers. I’m FLOORED that i’m ANYONE’S favorite author. That someone reads my stuff and actually likes it.

I’m beyond thankful for my readers, and I’ll always strive for the big 1 MIL. And even when I reach 1 MIL, I’ll still respond to comments, to messages, and to the love and support from everyone.

And even now, on this blog, I have like no followers. But, maybe one day, I’ll have thousands and remember this moment: the moment where no one read my stuff, but I kept putting myself out there anyway.


 

Thank you for being here and reading this!! You rock!

If you have any questions, COMMENT THEM! If you have any ideas for another blogpost/story time, COMMENT THEM!

If you want to see more story-time content like this, let me know 😀

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “HOW I BECAME SEMI-POPULAR

  1. kristyperkins101 says:

    I’d love to see more Story-Time 🙂 But then again, I really love your posts! This was very inspiring by the way.

    I’ve been on Wattpad since 2014, but I’m now just barely getting followers who actually check out my works. It’s hard to be involved within the community when I’m 85% of the time strictly mobile, so I’ve found that being apart of book clubs really help. People get to read your stories and get to know them, whether they like them or not. It’s a great help honestly. I’ve found some of my most loyal readers (though I have less then 10 of those right now) through book clubs. I, too, try to reply to every single comment on my stories! Sometimes, I’ll dedicate even just an entire day to doing so!

    You’re very inspiring(:

    Liked by 1 person

    • wickedpromises says:

      Yeah I agree with the mobile thing!! I kinda wish they’d revamp the mobile app. But I think book clubs are so fun 😀
      Honestly, I don’t spend much time anymore in the community section (though I probably should… it was always so much fun!)
      AND THANK YOU 😀 I’m glad I inspire people sometimes haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

