What I do in a day during the summer! (aka… why I never update)

Hello everyone!!

I’m OBSESSED with those “Get-ready-with-me” vids on Youtube, and even though this isn’t a youtube channel and I can’t fake my morning, I thought I’d write down how my summer days USUALLY look like, since people are always asking me why I never have time to write.

Well, here is why!!

On a TYPICAL summer day, this is what I do from the moment I wake up, to the moment I go to bed.

 

* * *

 

6:30AM: My phone alarm goes off, and I immediately get out of bed (on a good day). I head right to the bathroom to go pee, wash my teeth, and force myself out of bed. Then, I’ll go back into my room, pull on workout clothes, and rub deodorant under my arms.

Downstairs, I drink a glass of water while I stretch my legs. Usually I do toe-touches, pull my feet to my butt, etc. After I finish the large glass of water, I fill up my Nalgene water bottle (you can get it here for like, $11. it’s huge, and amazing, and I bring it everywhere) and pull on my running shoes and grab my car keys.

Between 6:45AM & 7:00AM: I drive to the beach to run, since I live on the coast. I try to leave the house by 6:45, but c’mon, we’re not all perfect. Then I’ll run for about a mile or two, depending on the day, how much time I have, and what the weather is like. The run is actually pretty decent and quiet during this time of the morning.

7:20AM: I usually get back from my run around this time, sometimes earlier. I shower at night, so I usually go and only wash my face from the run and reapply deodorant. Then I  go straight to the coffee machine and make myself a cup of hazelnut coffee.

My dad usually leaves around this time for work, so I say goodbye and hug him before he leaves. Yes, I live with my dad during the summers. I’m a broke college student who can’t afford NOT to live with my family during the summer.

7:30AM: I can’t go to work in my running clothes, so I go and get changed into my work clothes. I work in a place where my outfits get messy/ripped, so I wear t-shirts and shorts (and leggings!) most of the time. So I’ll grab whatever is around, and decide it’s good enough.

7:40AM: Usually this is when I take out my breakfast and hunker down in the kitchen to eat it with my laptop open. I love overnight oats, so I make those at night and eat them in the morning, and it’s my fave meal. It’s SO easy and quick to make. It’s literally oats, milk, honey, and whatever else you want to add.

  1. THE NIGHT BEFORE, grab a mason jar (or any container, I like mason jars) and fill it with equal parts oatmeal and milk. I use 2%, but you can use whatever you like (almond milk, whole milk, 1%, coconut milk, whatever)
  2. Add honey!! (or don’t. this is what I like)
  3. Put it in the fridge
  4. THE NEXT MORNING, pull it out. Shake it around, then add whatever you want. I add granola and banana in the morning, but get CRAZY. Add some berries. Add some fruit. Add none of that and just eat the oats! I don’t care 😀

Alright. Dumb recipe, but there you go. You’ll thank me later.

While I’m eating, I’ll go on my laptop and reply to messages on Wattpad, reply to comments on my stories, mess around on Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, Instagram, really whatever I want to do for the next 40 minutes. Sometimes, I turn on the news and watch that. Sometimes, I even WRITE, but I try not to (40 minutes sounds like a lot of time… but when you get into it, stopping mid-chapter can be hard and I try to avoid writing when I don’t have a lot of time).

8:15AM: I leave my house to pick up a co-worker, and we head to Dunkin’ Donuts for an iced coffee run before work. Yes, I’m addicted to dunks. And yes, I get it like, every morning before work. And YES, I drink a cup of hot coffee and then get an iced coffee.

9:00AM – 6:00PM: I’m in work!! I work an 8 hour shift, with an hour lunch break at 1PM, which sounds luxurious, but usually it’s about enough time for my co-worker and myself to go into town, get something to eat, and return. We don’t do this every day (in fact, we usually go to her house and I bring a sandwich)

6:00PM: I’m out of work, and it’s time to chill. This is when I have the MOST free time of the day.

Some nights, I go out with friends to get ice cream, or to go to the movies, or to go late afternoon shopping at our fave stores. If I’m not going out with friends, I get changed out of my clothes and put on lounge clothes (usually sweatpants). Then, I’ll join my dad in the living room and we’ll talk about our days at work. We’ll swap funny stories. Watch the evening news. I’ll mess around on my laptop and probably play Sims (I love sims… I just bought the city life expansion pack to add to my collection)

7:00PM: Usually this is when I eat dinner, which my dad cooks. It’s typically some type of meat and salad. We’ll eat together in the kitchen usually, and talk about whatever comes up in conversation. I’m very close with my father, and spend a lot of time with him because of it. He’s def one of my best friends.

After dinner, I go upstairs and start the shower. I’ll light a candle in my room (i’m obsessed with bath and body works!!) and then I’ll get into the shower. I usually listen to Chill Nation songs in the shower (lol, don’t judge me. I’m into the Blackbear remixes right now cause i love him)

When I get out of the shower, I take a spoonful of coconut oil and swish it around in my mouth for 20 minutes. While I do that, I get into my robe, sit in bed, and try to write. Or, I’ll get stuff done that HAS to be done (like budgeting… yikes).

After the 20 minutes are up, I spit out the oil and brush my teeth. Then I lotion up my body and put on pajamas. By this time, it’s usually 8:00, or 8:30. I’ll go downstairs, and my dad and I will try to watch a movie, if we’re feeling it. If not, I’ll write on my laptop.

9:30PM/10:00PM: This is about the time I try to go to bed. Right before sleeping, I read a few chapters from a book, set my alarms, and say goodnight to my dad. My hair is definitely still wet (I don’t blow dry my hair, I let it air-dry) but I don’t really do anything to stop it from getting the pillow wet. I also have to put Argon oil on my face, cause I have  CRAZY dry skin, and I’ll put in a leave-in conditioner in my hair, because it can always use more moisturizer.

 

* * *

 

So. That’s a typical day in my life. I work five days a week, so this schedule is what most of my week looks like. It’s repetitive as shit, and I don’t get a lot of variation from working and what not, but I try to have as much fun as I can. I go out with friends every chance I get, including on my days off, and so that leaves little time to write and update, as you can see.

But I still try!!

Comment how your days go. Does your mornings and nights look like mine??? (and keep in mind, I don’t run every morning. Right now, my ankle is sprained, so I’m really not running)

What is your favorite candle right now? AND, do you drink as much coffee as I do??

HAPPY FRIDAY!!

 

2 thoughts on “What I do in a day during the summer! (aka… why I never update)

Leave a Reply

