Favorite books of 2016

It’s almost 2017, and to kick off the start of a new year, I want to wrap up 2016. In a good way (because I only ever see the bad things about this year, and I’m a positivity freak)

#1

The Raven King screen-shot-2015-11-03-at-3-16-04-pm

This book came out this year, and is the last installment in the Raven Cycle series. (which is my all time favorite series, go read it). I got this book as a gift, and it was signed and everything by the wonderful and amazing Maggie Stiefvater. She did a magnificent job ending the series, and I love everything about this book, from the characters to the suspenseful plot.

 

 

#2

YouFullSizeRender (8)

The physiological thriller You, written by Caroline Kepnes was pretty good. While the writing style was hard to read at first, it really grabbed my attention and kept me hooked for the entire read. It was definitely one of my favorites this year.

 

 

 

#3FullSizeRender (3)

Vengeance Road

So, this book is a western YA, and I was hesitant to read it. Western books? Yeah, totally not my thing. Cowboys? Potentially hot, but not my thing. So, I was pretty weary of reading it, but it had an absolutely gorgeous cover, so why not. And boy, was I happy I did. This book is amazingly written, has a love story, AND A BADASS FEMALE CHARACTER. That’s right ladies. This book has everything you’ll ever want in a female protagonist. No dumb, whiny girls here. Just girls with guns and vengeance.

 

#4shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024

Shadow and Bone

This series was so good! I read these books this spring, and I was wrapped up in them like you can’t even imagine. A mix of magic and fantasy, this book has stunning characters, a wild romance, and a plot so unique and interesting that you can’t put the books down. I know I couldn’t, last finals season (rip to my spring finals earlier this year… they were no match against Shadow and Bone!)

 

 

#551cjx33vfbl-_sx316_bo1204203200_

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Particular Children

I was hyped about this book since before this year, and before the movie was released. But, I really only had time to read it this year. And I’m so glad I did! This book is amazing. The characters are wonderful, it’s creepy to a certain degree, and the romance sub-plot is cute. I definitely enjoyed it, so of course I saw it in theaters, and was devastated. Seriously, if you’ve seen the movie and haven’t read the books, READ THEM! They’re so good, and the movie doesn’t do it justice.

 

* * *

And there you have it! My top five of 2016. Please keep in mind that I read well over 100 books this year, as I can’t seem to stop myself from buying every book in sight, so this was a hard thing to narrow down! (I spent an embarrassingly long time to do so, tbh). But, I hope you enjoyed, and I hope you grab some of these for yourself! You won’t regret it (I hope!)

 

Leave a Reply

