Daily writing: is it worth it?

Welcome to my blog,

Happy Inspiration Monday!

So, happy Monday everyone! It’s July 25th, which means summer is almost over! And I know, I know, it’s pretty upsetting. But, today, I have more motivational words of wisdom(?) for everyone.

I know people have heard about daily writing. And I know that it’s often given as a tip when trying to improve. But, is it really worth it?

Yes, yes it is.

Let me give you an example. If you workout every single day, do you get stronger? The answer is yes. If you only work out once a week, do you make amazing progress? No, not really.

This equates to writing. When you write daily, you’re practicing daily. You’re working on grammar, spelling, ideas, creativity, and you’re bending your mind. Even if you write daily about things that are not connected to a story you’re working on, it’s helpful.

When I was in high school, I carried around a notebook full of writing. Like the studious student I was, I would write in classes I hated, I would write during lunch, and before my license I would write on the bus. I would pull the notebook out everywhere and write when something popped into my mind.

And boy, did it help. I got used to daily writing. Ideas flowed much easier. And it was so easy to jot down story plot ideas, or whatever came to mind. Writing daily is such an easy workout when it comes to writing, and it does help you improve.

Practice makes better. And the more you write, the better you get. Trust me.

So, it’s July 25th, and I have a little challenge for my readers. For the month of August, join me in writing daily. Even if it’s a journal entry. Even if it’s nonsense. Even if it’s just your thought process written down. I challenge you guys to write every single day for the month of August.

As someone who writes every day, I value this practice more than life itself. It has gotten me where I am today, and honestly, it makes writing so easy and common place. It’s a drill my body already knows how to do.

And I’d love to hear about people who too love to write daily. What do you write about?

Alrighty. Happy Monday. I love you all.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

