The problem with short chapters

hi guys! 

Welcome to Inspiration Monday!

So, you feel like your chapters are too short, huh? Well, when I’m feeling like my ideas aren’t flowing and my chapters are roughly two pages too short, here’s what I like to do.

 

Erase and Rewrite. Yes, that’s right, erase and rewrite. If a chapter for me doesn’t feel write, doesn’t flow right, and I can’t seem to make it a reasonable chapter (length wise) I erase and begin again. I know, this is totally scary because what writer wants to erase their hard work and begin again? Not many, including myself. But if my chapters just aren’t reaching their ideal length, and I can’t seem to write enough, I begin again. Different ideas will flow, the story will take a new turn, and more often than not, it’s for the better. If you’re taking your book into a direction it doesn’t want to go in, you’ll know because you won’t be able to write it.

Take a break. Sometimes, when writing a chapter, you need to take a break and let your ideas come to you. If you’re writing a chapter and it’s bland, and a filler, and you can’t seem to write, take a break. Jot down ideas. Watch a movie. Read a book. Go for a walk. Then come back and see if you can finish that dreaded chapter.

Finish the chapter with a plot twist. Ah, my favorite method right here. If I’m writing a chapter that doesn’t seem to want to end (in the bad way), I add in a twist. I make a decision to have my characters do something out of place, out of character, so that it not only throws off the reader, but also throws me off. Here’s an example: I was writing a chapter with the main character going to school, but after they got to school, I felt like I didn’t know where to bring the chapter, or how to end it. I had two pages of the character doing things before school that were important, but now she’s at school and I had no clue what to do. So I just decided to throw in a twist out of nowhere, and it made me so excited to keep writing. She’s at school, and suddenly she gets an important phone call. Or, she’s at school and suddenly a car accident happens in the parking lot. Or, she’s at school and suddenly her best friend slaps her across the face. Idk, just throw something drastic in. It helps!

 

Those are my three favorite ways to help a chapter along when you just can’t seem to finish it. I really do hope this helps (and this can help with writers block). So, if you’re stuck right now on finishing a chapter, go ahead and try one of these! And if it works, I hope you’ll continue to try it out!

Okay, happy inspirational monday! Happy writing, my friends!

Leave a Reply

